NeurIPS 2023 Scholar Award for Hava Chaptoukaev (EURECOM), 3IA PhD student

  • Research
  • Education
Published on November 20, 2023 Updated on December 13, 2023

Discover the paper "StressID: a Multimodal Dataset for Stress Identification" accepted at NeurIPS 2023 for which Hava Chaptoukaev received the NeurIPS Scholar Award.


StressID is a new dataset specifically designed for stress identification from unimodal and multimodal data. It contains videos of facial expressions, audio recordings, and physiological signals. The video and audio recordings are acquired using an RGB camera with an integrated microphone. The physiological datais composed of electrocardiography (ECG), electrodermal activity (EDA), and respiration signals that are recorded and monitored using a wearable device. This experimental setup ensures a synchronized and high-quality multimodal data collection. Different stress-inducing stimuli, such as emotional video clips, cognitive tasks including mathematical or comprehension exercises, and public speaking scenarios, are designed to trigger a diverse range of emotional responses. The final dataset consists of recordings from 65 participants who performed 11 tasks, as well as their ratings of perceived relaxation, stress, arousal, and valence levels. StressID is one of the largest datasets for stress identification that features three different sources of data and varied classes of stimuli, representing more than 39 hours of annotated data in total. StressID offers baseline models for stress classification including a cleaning, feature extraction, and classification phase for each modality. Additionally, we provide multimodal predictive models combining video, audio, and physiological inputs. The data and the code for the baselines are available at

H. Chaptoukaev (3IA PhD student), V. Strizhkova (3IA PhD student), M. Panariello, B. D’Alpaos, A. Reka, V. Manera, S.Thümmler, E.Ismailova, N.Evans, F.Bremond (3IA chairholder), M.Todisco, M.A.Zuluaga (3IA chairholder), L.M.Ferrari.

Congratulations to Hava Chaptoukaev for this well-deserved award!

Learn more